How Does Mold Grow on Bread?

Image

The World of the Mold SporeMold spores are microscopic plants that float on every breeze, inhabit every inch of earth and surround us everywhere we go. Some molds produce mycotoxins, which are dangerous poisons that can cause serious illness. Some molds are beneficial, breaking down diseased yard waste and providing building blocks for antibiotics, miracle drugs that have saved millions of lives. Molds helped scientists break the genetic code and today help researchers discover the effects of humanity’s “biological clock” and how it works. One of the most familiar forms of this filamentous fungus is the fuzzy green and gray growth that afflicts the foods we keep, particularly breads.

Tell me a bout your home experiment. Please remember to use details to describe your questions; and to use correct grammar, spelling, punctuation, and capitalization. Remember to write complete sentences that are clear, to the point, and easier to read.


13 Comments on “How Does Mold Grow on Bread?”

  1. sean says:

    I got no mold, but the sea salt I put in is taking moisture from the bread.

  2. Carol says:

    I have no mold. It is the same as I started.
    Cheese is melting a little bit.

  3. sam says:

    I have a little mold in the one that I put water in. The other one doesn’t have any mold on it….. yet.

  4. megan says:

    Mr.Arauz I just put my bread out and I am hoping for mold soon it is wet so mold might grow quick,I do have two types of bredso we will see what grows faster. I will keep you posted.

  5. ~ToRy~ says:

    Hello Mr.Arauz i have no mold😦 …..yet Mi bread is still the same. I think i am very weird, i put goat poop in it. ughhhhh i thought it would work i guess not.

  6. katie says:

    day 1-nothing
    day 2-nothing
    day 3-nothing
    day 4-nothing
    day 5-nothing
    day 6- still no nothing
    day 7-NOTHING😡
    day 8- this is getting boring nothing
    day 9-nothing!!!!!!!!!!!
    day 10- I thought this would work! >:U
    day 11- MOLD MOLD MOLD!!!!! EWWW BUT COOL!!!!!! tiny peice though
    oh yeah, I put cheese in mine!!!

  7. ashlynn says:

    Mr.Arauz I have no mold. It is the same as I started.I am hoping for mold soon.

  8. Jilliana says:

    I put a srtrawberry on mine.

    Days 1-4 nothing

    On Day 5 there was a mold spot on the strawberry but not the bread.

    On day 6 the mold spot got bigger

  9. Ashlynn says:

    No mold still ):

  10. melanie says:

    Mr.arauz,
    My bread has no mold. I put sugar and baking soda. It feels like a rock!!!!!!!!!

  11. LOPEZ says:

    Mr . Arauz still no mold two weeks with no mold on both breads. I thought marsh mellows would work for sure but they melted and my bread is wet. THIS STINKS!


Leave a Reply

